Tendril Press Honored at the 2014 Benjamin Franklin Awards

The Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA) today announced the 2014 Benjamin Franklin Award honorees. Contributors to this year's list of honorees include the 39th U.S. president Jimmy Carter, actor Jim Carrey, musician Art Garfunkel, and author Garrison Keillor.  Learn more...

Paula Szabo

Paula Szabo is the fifth of six children born to John and Marion Szabo. Possessing a natural gift for the written word, Paula began to dream of becoming a writer when she was in grade school. By age twelve she envisioned writing a novel entitled Evolution. Later, as a single mother, she spent many hours making up stories for her daughters Sarah and Sahar. Her dream to become a writer was set aside when she decided to enter nursing school to support them. In 1992, she graduated from Arapahoe Community College and began working as a Psychiatric Nurse for Ft. Logan Mental Health Center in Denver, Colorado.

When Sarah, her eldest daughter had reached her eleventh year, it was discovered she was diabetic. This was to be the beginning of a personal journey of spiritual growth for Paula who then looked into non-traditional methods of healing in hopes of helping her daughter’s condition. In her search to help her daughter, Paula was to meet her long time friend and mentor Susan Schwartz, a Medicine Woman trained in the Lakota tradition. Through Susan’s tutelage, she developed a greater respect and reverence for Native American spirituality, a wisdom expressed through messages of inspiration reflected throughout her writing.



Stay Connected




Support CO 14er Initiative


Long's Peak:

It's a Story and
a Climbing Guide